Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Just Me And Them

Technology savvy, entertainment and info

Getting Excited In PC And Lifestyle

When I did my forty dollar PC a lot of people said this motherboard still have life and then wasn't brick so today. I'm going to try my best to get it working for the eyes so for this first part we're going to clean down the motherboard with some parts cleaner AKA brake cleaner. I usually do this on a lot of parts that I can’t get to work for instance my retro super Nintendo games. If they don't work sometimes I can give him this in a bit of CRC five for 6 and they come back to life however before we do that we must take a precaution. Safety is our number one priority and so it's the morning after and I have clean this whole board down with parts cleaner I've let it dry out and this is the actual socket which was pretty dirty. It's actually looking a lot cleaner the actual pins so maybe that could be something to do with it so we're just going to pretty much clean up this board put some new heatsink paste on the Northbridge and the Southbridge whack the heat sinks back on and give it another try. But also before we do that I'm going to run to my favorite hardware stores but it's like the use parts places and give you guys a little insight of how I look for used parts and how I pick up these bug and switch a lot of people have requested. Ladies and gentlemen we are so they've got PC Depa which is like just the pc place that sells possible problem is just the parts are always way too expensive. They're usually a bust I mean I went in there quickly and they had like an i7 920 four hundred dollars so I was like now this place is not going to have anything decent but the place we're going to go over to is right over there cold heart off and This is a big one at the narrator so hopefully they have a lot of good stuff. And never will ever look it could be a bust where the first section, they got like monitors which Cheryl garbage and like two hundred fifty dollars roughly for a GTX 660ti. So these guys need a kind of recheck their prices on a few things. And sorry about this annoying crap in the background that like kind of playing on loudspeakers then you get like some old school cooler. I mean few of these things are just the boss so keep looking on and see if they got anything decent that’s not bad you've got some den and speakers there for like fifty bucks and two of them. So that's for the pair also over I did fine like I was looking to put together a another 2.1 I'd probably picked that up that's like a Yamaha subwoofer with two and speaker outs on it so that's pretty good too.

Getting Excited In PC And Lifestyle

So if we move around the corner  we can kind of like see that there you know  doesn't matter where you go even if it's used or not Bose is still overpriced and  we're moving into the junk section this is basically where they probably get a  lot of parts. In that are missing things and they don't turn on so they couldn't  be bothered checking them and a lot of times I find a lot of stuff works but I  mean like what you know like den and speakers like five box for to speak. You could probably put together a 2.1 system no problems like I did before for nothing and then you get like just yet lots of speakers and receivers so there's lots of stuff. But this is the part you all guys have wanted to see and that's the computers so this is actually where I picked up the Phantom to the last time it was Miss advertised as a Pentium. I actually got it as like a Pentium G something but it was actually Venom inside.

 

Getting Excited In PC And Lifestyle

I'm going to check out this Dell XPS because I haven't seen this before and check out this one too and see what's inside and see if there's any bargains. These two a new I haven't seen the last time I came here so the Dell XPS apart now it's got a 68 hundred in there. So I think its back from two thousand five which is like I think from the top of my head that's like Pentium D, days or something so this one's really not worth it, I mean I couldn't be bothered to thirty dollars so it's got two gigabytes of DDR2 memory in this. So but anyway let's close this up and take a look at the next one so we've just got a case which is unfortunate and that's pretty much with that being said it's a boss. I mean if anyone wants a copy of Windows XP there’s a key for you whether this is real boss city today.

Getting Excited In PC And Lifestyle

I mean it's just nothing and then anything with decent hardware and that they're asking like two hundred dollars. One thing I will say so if you're after a keyboard then they're like a dollar a lot of the keyboard for a dollar and you know I mean something filthy. But actually some of them a decent so if you're after a cheap keyboard one door that's not too bad. That would probably move on now to the next door because this place was just a bust. The next place that I go is called tall Garnet Canta down so definitely in my country hometown and they sometimes have some good deals I mean generally the idea with deals is you're not going to get a deal unless that they can't get the parts working which was the case of mild the two rigs. That I got in the forty dollar PC build we're going to quickly go inside take a look what they got they might not have anything who knows let's find out the side now and there's like nothing. So there's the other like sub woofer the day including the speakers for like sixty five dollars so I guess I picked up that bargain. I mean there is just a lot of speakers here and no computer parts so unless someone once he'll binder for one dollar. Guys so I'm actually going to get an ID drive so I’ll probably head to another place, I can get an ID floppy drive and then I can try and put out that motherboard home. We're just at a place called wonder X, Now so you can see there that's the Kanji for Chico that means second and we're going to go in and we're going to take a look upstairs build a IDC drive, with the board and it is just giving me the screen. It doesn't matter what I I have try literally everything I can think of ps2 keyboard USB keyboard plugged in every single different USB port. I've tried the solder drive plugged into every single different side of Port of even tried an ID drive plugged into the ID port there.

Getting Excited In PC And Lifestyle

I just cannot get past this screen into the bios so I've tried yet and again I've tried the memory slot and every single different slot. It just doesn't work it's just not happening guys this board is something is wrong with this board at the hardware level and it's just not getting even into the bios. So the board is pretty much you know despite all my effort I cannot restore this board. I mean unless I get new parts for and solar and on which I'm not going to bother with an LGA 775 board so that being said let's move on now to a conclusion. So they have a guy's despite what you do sometimes, things just don't work out so this motherboard is bricked but at least the CPU works and at least the ram work so it's not all a big loss. I mean I did pick this rig up initially for twenty dollars and also today I didn't have any luck when it came to finding any bargains.

Booted S05E03 Powerful PC

 

 

What is happening everybody welcome back to booted this is season 5 the water  cold addition we're that's all we're featuring the season for the last season booted is liquid cooled systems and we are in episode 3 right now. So we're  going to be looking at the last five contestants of the entire series today  so that's five more liquid cooled PCs and they're all pretty sweet hopefully you guys are doing well whatever you might be doing or  whatever you're up to.

Getting Excited In PC And Lifestyle

I hope everyone is finding themselves in high spirits, I can hear myself where's that coming from, where's that! There you go totally planned totally prep to this sorry for the late start exploit literally crashed the second I was about to hit a stream glad it happened before I started screaming though and not while but it is very exciting. This is a kind of a bittersweet moment excited to show you guys these last five PCs but also sort of sad that it's going to be the last five of the entire series but I guess that's what makes it all special so hopefully you guys enjoyed this one. No real announcements to announce other than there is a giveaway that just lunch today between me Paul and that one guy Jays two cents and I guess we'll throw a fractal Josh in there because this is ace fractal design sponsored give away as it's our day of refinement giveaway. And a lot of people are upset because we're not giving away any hardware per SE. But we are giving away in experience which is a day over five minutes so you get picked up from LAX or whatever crap airport Josh flies you out - I get picked up in a rolls-Royce this one in particular. Look it's got like star patterns like illumination on the top pretty sweet so I rolls-Royce wraith, I don't know much about cars but I know that’s like a four thousand dollar vehicle and then we take you to a yacht. You'll be chilling on a yacht with like me the other dudes like this, it doesn't look very big but that they’ve got a 40-footer. I thought it was that there it is anyway go ahead and enter that video enter that give away if you're interested. If you're not obviously carry on and ignore this message but let’s take a quick look at last week's finalists who was even with his redonkulous portal to build a portable portal to what have you the portal franchise he this was a well-deserved win a victory in my book because just like twenty points for creativity and style and it is just really well executed.

Getting Excited In PC And Lifestyle

Take a look at the side profile, got two separate loops one for a CPU the other for his two GTX 980 TIs they're using the beloved well-known portal colors just beautiful bends all around so well done. In will be going head-to-head with a brad that was the weak one finalist and whoever may take away the finalist spot for today at the end of this episode. A heated competition on that note when we take a look at Luke who is our first contestant here, he is first of blasts rock an Alien Lee PC 07, is this is a one of the Linley's fancy wall-mounted chassis is actually have the PCO 5s smaller version mini-it.

A small form factor on the wall over there and it's a really nice case got tempered glass side panel obviously he's removing here. For this shot but this is a there's definitely some modification is going on here - a lot of the components so he's got a 6700K and not a TI kingpin so that has been superb end - I get the highest quality Asic out of all the 90 tis. A very nice card and if we take a look at the side profile here I know if you guys have already guessed the theme but the theme of this pc is over watch and I know that because of a picture you'll see later. On the PCE ribbon cable the extension I don't know fees that's necessarily in Overwatch character it probably is I've only played the game for a few hours but Overwatch colors for sure that the white and black. I'm sorry the white and orange going on look at those dominator platinum is how those are modified he's a essentially painted them painted the outside white and he's painted a little heat sink portions orange.

Getting Excited In PC And Lifestyle

And he's also swapped out the light bar for from a white one to an orange one so those are all rock and orange light bars there in the memory there's another close-up look at that dude do the helmet looks Overwatch team build. For sure because once he puts the side panel on you can see it's been laser etched with some Overwatch branding. Which looks Super cool it's kind of got like a nice frost look but not too overwhelming just very clean overall. And he's also done a shot with the LEDs on got some white LEDs in there. A lot of it looks so it's pretty sweet I'm really digging all these video game inspired build the portal 1 I've got Overwatch, I just think it's a really great thing to build your system off or build it around is a video game. Really nice fun well respected and critically acclaimed video game and I definitely like the two been going on here it's not hard to being so you know doesn't make me hard makes me more on the soft side. But that being said it's still a still routed pretty nicely the runs are relatively clean and you've got some orange fluid in here and that can be seen through the reservoir and the tube that's coming from that portion. But the rest of the tubing is white so you can't really see too much of the liquid so it kind of gives like a two-tone. I think you just kind of did that to mix up the color palette a little bit instead of just having one or the other you decided to go with two colors there I think those creative and definitely that all the painting the paint job on the motherboard is it's very well done on the add heat sinks.

Getting Excited In PC And Lifestyle

Those orange stripes looks very professional so nice job, you get a two thumbs up for me, doesn't really mean anything in this show, still fun, still funded to give thumbs. This is built in the EVGA Hadron air which I don't believe this is like what they had John looks like right off the bat. You’ve definitely done some modifications here, there's a lot more of Plexiglas going on or Acrylic whatever that is. And I really like the way it looks it's kind of gets a semi-open air design, there's no real front panels just kind of bear in your face it makes it look very industrial it's like and the thing is it looks it looks well done like it’s like it was done on purpose it doesn't look like someone just ripped off the front panel and like left the build you know have put together it actually looks done intentionally in it. And you pull it off quite well I love the reservoir at the bottom below those two fans blow your radiator and stuff I think that's a really cool place to put it. And I just love the two bends that goes straight up and through that part of the Hadron. We take a look at the side here you can see it's just your CPU that's been water cold custom water cool with a very nice raystorm CPU block and your video card is GTX 750ti probably not the Caliber of card. Now you are ready for some PC entertainment with all the latest gadgets you need you can click on the link below.

Getting Excited In PC And Lifestyle

I would expect in a custom order cool build however if that's good enough for your needs. Who am I to say otherwise right if you're not really gaining all that much your gaming it 1080 on and high settings or you know in some games very high settings are cool. On that's awesome and looks like there's just been a lot of modifications I like the little a little fan over your VRMs on the motherboard that little white fan it's kind of cool and if we take a look at the money shots gives us a closer look. Also got a nice little fan at the back there the Baton we've got 32 gigs of Hyperx Theory DDR4 and believe there's another shot so here's just another angle shot at the front I really like that Plexi. I don't know I'm usually not a fan of Plexi but it just looks really well done here and then here's a shot of it on your desk I usually don't accept pictures on booted of like setups. But this is the only shot where you had the LEDs on so I just want to show that you have LEDs in the system and this is also the second-to-last episode of the entire series so who cares at this point. But overall very creative build I've not really seen anything like this submitted to boot it ever so good job. The PCO 8x this is a one of those another one of those beautiful cases with the tempered glass panels all around to meet you from hardware connects that this does a really nice building. Michael's been a really nice one here to the core i7 6700K the gtx 980 TI superclocked from EVGA both CPU and GPU. Have been water cooled and the first thing I'll say off the bat is you got these nice not to a fan's the front that you've painted white and it looks like they're really they came out really nice my only gripe is that the brown. Not a huge fan of the brown corners this those stock brown quarters I feel like if those were black that would have been it just would have matched your color neutral and stuff also the not to have fans that are on your top radiator and at the rear the back your case. Feel like this could have been, maybe you could have to flip those, maybe make the corners of those white if you want to spray paint them. Crow max that makes a those rubber vibration stopper or vibration replacements for the Noctua fans you can go ahead and check that out but here's a look at the side profile. Very beastly love that glass tubing that you've got there with kind of a looks like an off-white kind of a pearl color fluid that's and its really pretty matches nicely with the chrome fittings which our very own. All the radiators I believe I don't know you've got a mix of EK and alpha cool radiators here an EK dual D5 pump and this is there's no bending here of the tubes are all straight.

And I think you've done a really nice job just making these runs with just straight tubing and fittings I really especially love the tubing that goes from the video card down and they both kind of like follow each other parallel and if you look at the bottom there's a drain valve. A drain port that he's face downward at the bottom of the case and drill the hole in the bottom of the case so that if he ever needs to you know drain the system you can just kind of hang up. The case over the edge of the table or something doesn't need to connect anything just released the valve in and out comes the fluid I think that's pretty inventive very nifty. Cable sleeve it looks a little bit rough around the edges looks like it's been through some maybe hasn't done that it's full boot camp training we need to train those cables a little bit more. Send them back to cable camp I don't know I'm saying but again just like this fluid I really dig in the color here with the chrome, I do like the chromatic the nickel plated EK water block as there's a couple of this. You've got this one another shot of the front of the fans I'm sure I mean they're not to avenge those so at least they're performing great even if I don't agree with the brown corners make sure our functional. And here's a look with the LEDs on beautiful this is a very lovely indeed. The Fantasticks and two curve phanteks and to evolve a great case as we all know 47 IDK so I reckon the last gen as well and we got a gtx 970 amp extreme in their full water cooling CPU and GPU. You definitely filled this up I like it, I believe in the notes that you would set me Phillip you had mentioned that you had modified the front of the case to accommodate a 280 RAD. So that's a 280 millimeter radio at the front there and I believe and three Bob only has support for a 240 at the front so that's the case if I've got that right than very nice job I'm loving how thick it is and I love how you just get barely enough clearance for your video card. I love it when you just bear with it barely fits so satisfying that’s what she said you've also got day a nice 120 at the top it looks beautiful.

A nice combination with the red and white fittings I really do like that you've also got some team group extreme DDR3 2400 Rams get the Rams in there which I believe you also painted white correct me if I'm wrong. LT water black fat upper jaw taking that back plate on that on that GPU. You've taken off the on the top panel of your case and giving us an inside look at as to how you mounted that reservoir which is mounted sideways looks like you've also got to fill port that's right at the top there which is very convenient. You want to bleed your system and things like that well thought out very well thought out well planned and killer looking system. I also really like that pump that's down there and I love that I love the flexible matte black tubing, I don't know why the matte black tubing just always looks super sexy to me turned my own guns mail all right and last but not least we've got system rocket in a graphite seven ATT from corsair great custom water, cooling chassis with a 58 20k we're rocking that x99 with the MSI X9 SLI plus motherboard 16 gigs of SA mode on Platts from corsair 2600 and the gtx 980. Three of them in 3-way SLI and as for as for CPU or a CPU and water block you've got EK supremacy evo and of course EK water blocks all around on those nineteen eighties fatty old reservoir.

They're sticking in the middle so you've got some nice tube endings, everything looks super clean your cable is your cables is probably the best cable routing that I've seen on today's show. Very clean very clean indeed and that is a fat radiator at the front there, it's going to be a thicker than my bed and nice EVGA SLI bridge as an addition I do like how you've gone with the also very color neutral theme. With the kind of the transparent the clear fluid probably just using distilled water and kind of just a black and white overall theme some silver / grey actions but altogether very neutral she’s really nice because as well see later works really plays nicely with any kind of LED color you might throw at it and here's another shot here's a money shot beautiful. Them then cable trainings you got it down so here's a shot of it all lit up with the white LEDs is what it looks like and just looks really clean. I think transparent fluids like just distilled water looks a lot better when it's being illuminated like in the dark than it does just during the day because it kind of just gives I don't know the light just bounces off of it kind of creates these reflections that looks more crystals. It looks more like glass to make for some reason at least in photos I really like the way a just plain old distilled water looks and what I was talking about because you've got a color neutral system you can pretty much just pick any color that you have with your NZXT you plus and you're good to go. You want a purple system today you can do purple you do green on Wednesday blue on Friday read for the weekend it just gives you flexibility in the aesthetics department for sure but you just leave it on the rainbow spectrum. You've got another 120 millimeter red at the bottom I must miss that the very bottom of the case I think that's cool because there's that lower kind of compartment that the seven ATT has you can fit some stuff down there clearly good.

Self-Lacing Nike Mags: How To Get Your Pair

The day you’ve been waiting for has arrived the Nike Air Mag with automation technology is no longer a fantasy the future since it is now reality and everybody has a chance to get their hands on a pair of these evolve sneakers. 27 years ago the world laid eyes on the then space-age concept of self-lacing sneakers with Marty Mcfly play by Michael checkbox hit the big screen in Back to The Future Part 2. Nike, never want to let a cool idea go to waste has been working diligently over the years to bring these conceptual sneakers to life with their first iteration dropping back in 2011 as part of a fundraising effort to help the Michael J Fox foundation in their search for a cure for Parkinson's disease. They raised nearly 10 million dollars in just 10 days with one hundred percent of the proceeds going towards the Foundation's much-needed research. Nike chairman president and CEO Mark Parker had this to say “Though it initially shared only a few seconds of screen time with Michael, the idea behind the Nike Mag unlocked something much bigger at Nike. It sent us down an uncharted path of innovation but, it also opened our eyes to our ability to fight some of the world's biggest challenges.” Since then they've made some major strides in making this progressive shoe.

Getting Excited In PC And Lifestyle

Now you are surely wondering how you can get a pair, well I want you to know that there are only eight nine pairs available. Now of those 89 pairs, Nike will be conducting a digital raffle with each submission earning an equal opportunity to win a pair of Nike Mag so basically the more times you submit an entry, the better your chances of winning with no limit to the amount of time you can enter. Each entry ticket cost ten dollars and is actually a donation to the Michael J Fox foundation. According to nike the draw is officially open as of October 4 and goes until Tuesday October 11 and the will be reaching out the winners on October 17. Now in order to enter the raffle, you need to visit nike.com/mag or using nike+ mobile app. This is so tight by them lifting any restrictions to the amount of times you can enter, the successfully convert any and all hungry sneakerheads to charitably giving them to our society about a very, very important cause. So even if you don't have to pair, you can sleep well at night knowing that you've lent a hand in helping up others. It sounds like a win-win. Well for more info on how you can help in the fight against Parkinson's disease, visit michaeljfox.org. That's all for now for the Nike Mag, best of luck to all of you out there buying for a pair.

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post